The Dream of America

Meeka Quan DiLorenzo, cello
Local narrators

Sunday | May 5, 2024 | 3:00PM

Arturo Márquez | Conga del Fuego
Tan Dun | Crouching Tiger Concerto
Peter Boyer | Ellis Island: The Dream of America

Join the orchestra and cellist Meeka Quan DiLorenzo for a powerful afternoon!

First, the program starts with Mexican composer Arturo Márquez’s Conga del Fuego. Composed in 2005, this quick 3-minute piece translates as “Conga of Fire” and is a pulsating, joyous burst of dance. Cellist Meeka Quan DiLorenzo joins for contemporary composer Tan Dun’s Crouching Tiger Concerto from the iconic Ang Lee film, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000). The score for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon earned Tan an Academy Award and a Grammy. Lastly, Peter Boyer’s Ellis Island: The Dream of America , premiered in 2002, provides a glimpse into the American Dream as experienced by immigrants who passed through Ellis Island. The work features several narrators performing spoken texts from the Ellis Island Oral History Project which are interwoven with the music.

DiLorenzo currently plays as Assistant Principal for the Seattle Symphony.

A Pre-Concert Lecture about the program will take place at 2:15PM in the Walton Theatre. Doors open at 2PM and seating is limited, so please plan accordingly. These lectures are free for ticket-holders.

This concert qualifies for Classical Kids, Take-A-Teen, and Student Rush ticket discounts. Visit to learn more.

For details, visit


This is an independent event promoted by a renter of the facility. Any comments or opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions or policies of Mount Baker Theatre.